Logged in as Guest | You are in group "Guests" | Wednesday, 2017-10-18, 2:54 AM RSS Main | Creation of new unit - Forum | Registration | Login






[ New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]

Page 1 of 11
Forum moderator: VPf2 
Forum » Codename PANZERS Phase 3 (Mod) » Technical Support » Creation of new unit (Auto Desk 3ds Max -2009)
Creation of new unit
Sunday, 2012-04-08, 10:34 PM

Message # 1

sforza

Major general
Veteran User
Registered: 2010-11-21
Messages: 144
Reputation: 15

Dear friend,
I know nothing about creating units for Codename Panzers and would like to learn more.
Follow these tips for editing skins tutorial in this site and how the exercise could modify the skin of my first drive (using model Berlin 45).

http://www.4shared.com/photo/MtRjrVFG/PANZER_1.html

I would now like to create a new unit. I installed the Auto Desk 3ds Max -2009 (http://www.clubepc.org/download-autodesk-3ds-max-2009-01-07-2008).
I do not know how to import or open a file .4 d units of Codename Panzers to start playing with the software.
It takes some plugin to do this? Where can I get it?


Sforza - Brazil
 

 

Wednesday, 2012-04-11, 11:35 AM

Message # 2

VPf2
Owner of the Website

Generalissimo
Administrator
Registered: 2009-01-23
Messages: 312
Reputation: 12

As Trippel-XXX said on Kane's board. First download the competition files:

http://www.file-upload.net/downloa....ar.html

It's a .MAX file of the Panzer IV F2 from RfB. To create a model, open this file with max, remove the meshes of the IV F2 and create your model. Then export it to .3DS format and finally create the 4D file with a special tool from JaNo744 ( http://panzers.ucoz.com/load/jre_stormregion_4d_editor_v01/8-1-0-37 ). You will need Java to use this tool.
 

 

Wednesday, 2012-04-11, 12:06 PM

Message # 3

sforza

Major general
Veteran User
Registered: 2010-11-21
Messages: 144
Reputation: 15

Dear VPF2,
Thank you for sending information. Now it is understood (I have very little knowledge in this area).
I just need one more information:
1 -) For example how to do the reverse: importing an existing unit in Codename Panzers, to be edited in 3D Max?
Greetings
Sforza


Sforza - Brazil
 

 

Wednesday, 2012-04-11, 7:58 PM

Message # 4

VPf2
Owner of the Website

Generalissimo
Administrator
Registered: 2009-01-23
Messages: 312
Reputation: 12

Hey,

"Reverse" method doesn't quite work because currently there are no tools that support converting 4D files. Either you'd have to write your own program or find some algorithm that could reverse engineer the 4D. You can however add new stuff to existing units (for example changing the turret on a Panzer I without changing it's body or wheels). But importing a 4D into 3DS Max with the current tools is not possible.
 

 

Thursday, 2012-04-12, 1:47 PM

Message # 5

sforza

Major general
Veteran User
Registered: 2010-11-21
Messages: 144
Reputation: 15

Dear VPf2
Thanks for the information.
In parallel, Tripel-XXX wrote to me that perhaps JaNo744 may have some software.
You have the email JaNo744?
Greetings
Sforza


Sforza - Brazil
 

 

Thursday, 2012-04-12, 1:59 PM

Message # 6

PantherG

Colonel
Veteran User
Registered: 2009-03-13
Messages: 99
Reputation: 15

Hi Sforza,
If you want, I can help you in converting 3ds models into 4d files usable in the game, see my products ..
See you soon!
Best regards.


Fan of panzers
 

 

Thursday, 2012-04-12, 3:41 PM

Message # 7

VPf2
Owner of the Website

Generalissimo
Administrator
Registered: 2009-01-23
Messages: 312
Reputation: 12

@sforza

I've found this old email jano744@tiscali.it but it probably won't work because his former website at http://web.tiscali.it/cpmodding doesn't work so his email of the same provider (tiscali) probably won't either.
 

 

Friday, 2012-04-13, 4:48 PM

Message # 8

sforza

Major general
Veteran User
Registered: 2010-11-21
Messages: 144
Reputation: 15

Dear VPf2,
Also could not find the email JaNo744, and maximum I could trace it was in "La Community degli studenti di Ingegneria Informatica di Napoli '(Italy), without getting your email.
Alias​​, I found a message last year's very interesting:
http://www.cdv-forum.de/cdvboar....38.html
Even so, many thanks for assistance.
Greetings
Sforza

Added (2012-04-13, 4:48 PM)
---------------------------------------------

Quote (PantherG)
Hi Sforza,
If you want, I can help you in converting 3ds models into 4d files usable in the game, see my products ..
See you soon!
Best regards.


Dear Panther G:
Any help is welcome!
Please send whatever you think important because I am just beginning in this matter.
Greetings
Sforza


Sforza - Brazil
 

 

Saturday, 2012-04-14, 12:58 PM

Message # 9

VPf2
Owner of the Website

Generalissimo
Administrator
Registered: 2009-01-23
Messages: 312
Reputation: 12

Hey sforza,

The archive link you posted is very interesting, it'd be great to be able to edit human-models. You might want to try contacting Al_Capone and nightgambler but frankly I doubt you'll get any information about jaNo.

Just for thought, but contacting the old staff from Stormregion might be remotely possible. Even more so they could still have the original software used to create parts of Panzers, like the 3ds Max plugin for example. I'm probably not being realistic but it might be worth trying.
 

 

Tuesday, 2012-04-17, 3:07 AM

Message # 10

sforza

Major general
Veteran User
Registered: 2010-11-21
Messages: 144
Reputation: 15

Dear VPf2,
I need help!
I used the file "PzIV_F2_Out.max" sent by Triplel XXX in 3DMax and exported to the format ".3 DS".
Then I used the Java tool 4D Editor created by JaNo744.
I just do not know to handle it.
Could you teach me how to use this tool?
I did the following sequence:

1 -) I pressed the "New 4D file" and used the "Import Mesh Object" and open the file PzIV_F2_Out.3DS. So far so good.

2 -) So the program called "Select the object to import:" and then asks "Select of the parent entity for this object," and after asking "Inser the object's positions into the list (0-0)."
What are these applications?

Sforza


Sforza - Brazil

Message edited by sforza - Tuesday, 2012-04-17, 3:40 AM
 

 

Tuesday, 2012-04-17, 9:04 PM

Message # 11

VPf2
Owner of the Website

Generalissimo
Administrator
Registered: 2009-01-23
Messages: 312
Reputation: 12

To my knowledge, try doing this sequence:

"Select the object to import:" --> The mesh/poly to import into the 4D file.

"Select of the parent entity for this object:" --> As you may know, 4D file in itself is a hierarchy of meshes, dummys and other chunks. So for example the "body" (hull) of a tank is the main separate object (so are wheels and tracks), so it has no parent entity. The turret for example is a secondary piece because it moves along with the "body", so you need to select body as the parent entity. Most of this is learned through many times of trial and error.

"Insert the object's positions into the list (0-0)." --> Pretty self-explanatory, it determines the mesh's position in the list starting with 0 (zero). Keep in mind that incorrect structures of these positions can produce errors and various bugs. So here's some examples of how the structure should be composed and how it shouldn't be:

Example Correct 4D file hierarchy:

[ body ] > Mesh
[ gun0h ] > Dummy
[ turret ] > Mesh
[ gun0m0 ] > Dummy
[ headlight0 ] > Dummy
[ fix_night_blight_01 ] > Lite Object
[ wheel0l] > Mesh
...


Incorrect 4D:


[ headlight0 ] > Dummy
[ body ] > Mesh
[ turret ] > Mesh
[ gun0h ] > Dummy
[ gun0m0 ] > Dummy
[ wheel0l] > Mesh
...


TIP: Open other 4D files and see how they are structured (what goes after what and who has which parent entity/position).

Hope this helps happy
 

 

Friday, 2012-04-20, 11:07 AM

Message # 12

sforza

Major general
Veteran User
Registered: 2010-11-21
Messages: 144
Reputation: 15

Added (2012-04-20, 11:07 AM)
---------------------------------------------
Dear VPf2,

I would like to implement this first Japanese unit for Codename Panzers: The Aichi D3A2 - nicknamed by the allies of "Val". http://www.mediafire.com/?qo04gisqna8hss5
My idea is to get the file "4 D" and then change the unit of any other existing aircraft to create a new Japanese unit.
What do you think? This idea could work?
Using the tool "4D Java editor" created by JaNo744:
First I entered "New 4d file" => Opened the "Scen" => Scen "Import Mesh object"
Open "Val.3DS (File 3D Studio Max 3ds files)
"Select the object to import"

Component #
Component0
Group_001
Thomson SU
Component1
Component2
Component3
Component4
Component5
Component6
Component7
Component8
Component9
Componen10
chamfer_00
Componen11
Componen12
Componen15
Componen16
Componen17
Componen18
Componen19
Componen20
Compone132
chamfer_01
Compone133
Compone134
Compone135
Compone136
Compone137
Compone138
Compone139
Compone146
Compone147
skpCamera0

Only the names above you can already get an idea of MESH, DUMY or LITE?
How did you do that?
We could do together this new unit?

Greetings,
Sforza

****************************************************************************************************************************************8

Dear VPf2,
I already have the answers to my previous questions.

00 - Component # (main Body)
01 - Component0 (?)
02 - Group_001 (engine)
03 - Thomson SU (machine gun aft)
04 - Component1 (machine gun aft)
05 - Component2 (?)
06 - Component3 (machine gun aft)
07 - Component4 (machine gun aft)
08 - Component5 (?)
09 - Component6 (?)
10 - Component7 (?)
11 - Component8 (cockpit)
12 - Component9 (?)
13 - Componen10 (joystick)
14 - chamfer_00 (rear tire)
15 - Componen11 (tailwheel)
16 - Componen12 (helices
17 - Componen15 (joystick)
18 - Componen16 (seat)
19 - Componen17 (axis Propellers)
20 - Componen18 (axis Propellers)
21 - Componen19 (axis Propellers)
22 - Componen20 (?)
23 - Compone132 (cockpit)
24 - chamfer_01 (left front tire)
25 - Compone133 (front left landing gear)
26 - Compone134 (front left landing gear)
27 - Compone135 (Front left wing)
28 - Compone136 (?)
29 - Compone137 (Front left wing
30 - Compone138 (?)
31 - Compone139 (sight)
32 - Compone146 (Inverted rear spoiler)
33 - Compone147 (?)
34 - skpCamera0 (*)


* Does not accept
(?) I insert as a function of effect

However I only have half plane!?!
With the tool JaNo744 I can only see half of the plane, while the source file has the complete plane.
I downloaded for you to see: http://www.mediafire.com/?lorihrwpqoze9dw
Let's imagine that I have the entire aircraft. What would be the next step to create a new unit?
What files do I have to edit and enter the game?
Greetings
Sforza


Sforza - Brazil

Message edited by sforza - Friday, 2012-04-20, 11:17 AM
 

 

Sunday, 2012-04-22, 1:48 PM

Message # 13

Lucas_de_Escola

Generalissimo
Senior Moderator
Registered: 2009-02-13
Messages: 707
Reputation: 28

Ánimo, Sforza. Espero que sus esfuerzos se vean recompensados con el éxito.

Boa sorte
 

 

Monday, 2012-05-14, 3:56 PM

Message # 14

sforza

Major general
Veteran User
Registered: 2010-11-21
Messages: 144
Reputation: 15

Hi Lucas,
Thanks for the encouragement.
The path is much more difficult than I imagined, but with the support that you guys have given me I intend to keep trying.
Sforza

Dear VPf2,
I finished my first test using the tutorial 3DMax:

http://www.mediafire.com/?jw4sp0907jq0nxn

It was not exactly a masterpiece, because I have my limitations. What do you think?
Photo: http://www.mediafire.com/imageview.php?quickkey=p3m6xh3upmmtm9r
As a test, what would be the next step to enter this simple plane in Codename Panzers (even if it already exists in the game)?
It would be using the tool created by Janno or need anything else?
Greetings
Sforza

Added (2012-05-14, 3:56 PM)
---------------------------------------------
Hi VPf2,
In parallel work, I had not given up on editing the plane Japanese "Val" and that he could be accepted by Codename Panzers (reducing the number of vertices and removing some accessories expendable). What do you think?
Image: http://www.mediafire.com/imageview.php?quickkey=2lkvbinzuzgiuxw

File 3dMax: http://www.mediafire.com/?d5vnh1z9hahve42
Now the challenge is to put the skin ... Do you have any idea how to do this or think it is not possible to move in that direction?
Greetings
Sforza


Sforza - Brazil

Message edited by sforza - Friday, 2012-05-11, 5:07 AM
 

 

Forum » Codename PANZERS Phase 3 (Mod) » Technical Support » Creation of new unit (Auto Desk 3ds Max -2009)
Page 1 of 11
Search:

Copyright VPf2 Designs © 2017